Lamplighter Honors

Lamplighter Honors

Celebrating the luminaries of the learning resource industry

The Lamplighter Honors from the AAP PreK-12 Learning Group celebrate individuals in various stages of their careers who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of learning resources and to the community that creates them. Currently consisting of four awards (Hall of Fame, Visionary, Ambassador, and Member of the Year) the Lamplighter Honors and their winners have become the hallmark for an industry dedicated to providing a world class education for all students.

We are pleased to announce that starting in 2017 the Lamplighter Honors and the REVERE Awards will join forces to salute the outstanding individuals and the materials they produce at the Education Industry Honors Gala. The Gala will be held during the annual Content in Context conference. There, we will announce winners of the REVERE Awards, which identify and honor high quality resources that educate learners of all ages, in all media, and hear from the 2017 Lamplighter honorees about their vision for our industry.

More information about the 2017 Gala will be available soon. 

Due to preparations for the 2017 Gala, there will be no Lamplighter Honors in 2016.

Past Hall of Fame recipients include Joan Ganz Cooney, co-founder of Sesame Workshop; Dick Robinson, chairman, president, and CEO of Scholastic; Garry Cleveland Myers & Caroline Clark Myers, founders of Highlights for Children; and Pleasant Rowland, founder of Rowland Reading Foundation and American Girl. For previous winners of all awards, click here.

Learn more about the program and its individual awards.