PROSE Awards Now Accepting Nominations for Outstanding Scholarly Books, Journals and Electronic Products

Winner of the top honor, the R.R. Hawkins Award, receives $10,000 cash prize

Washington, DC; October 14, 2015 –   Celebrating 40 years of excellence in professional and scholarly publishing, the 2016 PROSE Awards are accepting entries through Nov.  2. Entries are already streaming in for the prestigious awards, presented by the Association of American Publishers (AAP) Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division, which recognize remarkable contributions to the arts, humanities, sciences and math. The author of the R.R. Hawkins Award will win $10,000 for their exceptional published work. 

The PROSE Awards, established in 1976, have been growing steadily since their inception 40 years ago. This year 60 awards are available. A number of new additions are planned for the anniversary including a refreshed PROSE website, a video about the future of publishing, an updated logo and a virtual one-minute history of the awards.

“Intelligent and engaging academic material is just as important now as it was when the PROSE Awards were first launched 40 years ago. With entries for this year already exceeding expectations, we’re looking forward to an exciting 2016 PROSE Awards season,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, President and Publisher Emeritus of CQ Press.

Awards by the Numbers in 2016

  • 5 “best of” awards chosen from 54 book, reference, journal and eproduct categories
  • 46 book subject categories for traditional print, electronic publications and print/electronic packages
  • 6 electronic product awards

Publishers who are members of AAP or Association of American University Presses (AAUP) are encouraged to submit outstanding works that inspire, transform and educate. There is no maximum limit to submissions per publisher in any category. Complete entry information can be found here.

Winners will be unveiled during the awards luncheon ceremony on Feb. 4 in Washington, DC. Videos of the Hawkins winner speech and other multimedia presentations from the ceremony will be posted on and YouTube. The awards luncheon will also be webcast live, and feature a running feed of the @PROSEAwards Twitter account.

Last year, the$10,000 prize was awarded to The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press for the successful and popular political economy book, Capital in the Twenty-First Century by Thomas Piketty.


Media Contact

Allyson Garner / / {202} 220-4540


About AAP

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) is the voice of the US book and journal publishing industry.  AAP represents the industry’s priorities on policy, legislative and regulatory issues regionally, nationally and worldwide.  These include the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement, digital and new technology issues, funding for education and libraries, tax and trade, censorship and literacy.  Our four hundred member companies represent major commercial, educational and professional companies as well as independents, non-profits, university presses and scholarly societies.

Find us online at or on twitter at @AmericanPublish