Press Release

Top Scholarly Book Named at 2017 PROSE Awards: Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650

Scholarly publishing’s highest honors given at the 41st Annual PROSE Awards

Top Scholarly Book Named at 2017 PROSE Awards: Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650

Washington, DC; Feb. 2, 2017 Winners for the publishing industry’s top awards for professional and scholarly works – the PROSE Awards (#PROSEAwards) – were announced today during the annual Professional and Scholarly Publishing (PSP) Conference in Washington, DC. Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650, written by Carlos M.N. Eire and published by Yale University Press, beat out more than 500 entries to win the industry’s top prize, the R.R. Hawkins Award.

With compelling storytelling that spans continents and centuries, Reformations provides a vivid survey of Western civilization’s transition from the Middle Ages to modernity and contends that the Reformation, that crucial turning point in history, continues to play out today. It was chosen as the R.R. Hawkins Award winner from the five Award for Excellence winners, which represent the best works in humanities, social sciences, physical science & mathematics, biological & life sciences and reference materials.

PROSE Awards Judge Eric Lindquist, Librarian for history, American studies, classics, and religion at the University of Maryland Libraries explained, “While there will likely be many books about the Reformation this year, the 500th anniversary of Martin Luther’s promulgation of his 95 theses, it is hard to imagine any being more impressive than Carlos M.N. Eire’s magisterial Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650. Reformations is beautifully written. It is both deeply learned and accessible, and is a comprehensive treatment of a supremely important subject that will inform and delight scholars and non-scholars alike.”

The 2017 PROSE Awards for Excellence winners were chosen from 53 book, reference, journal and eProduct categories. They are:

Award for Excellence in Humanities
Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650
Yale University Press
By Carlos M.N. Eire

Award for Excellence in Social Sciences
Crook County: Racism and Injustice in America's Largest Criminal CourtStanford
University Press
By Nicole Gonzalez Van Cleve

Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences & Mathematics
Ecosystems of California
University of California Press
Edited by Harold Mooney and Erika Zaveleta

Award for Excellence in Biological & Life Sciences
Listening for What Matters: Avoiding Contextual Errors in Health Care
Oxford University Press
By Saul Weiner and Alan Schwartz

Award for Excellence in Reference Works
The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare
Cambridge University Press
Edited by Bruce R. Smith

Publishers with wins or honorable mentions this year include American Chemical Society, American Mathematical Society, American Psychological Association, The American University in Cairo Press, Baylor University Press, Berghahn Books, Inc., Bloomsbury, The Brookings Institution Press, Cambridge University Press, Cell Press, Columbia University Press, CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, Demos Medical, Elsevier , Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Gale/Cengage, Garland Science, Getty Publications, Grove Atlantic, Harper Wave, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Johns Hopkins University Press, Little Brown & Company, Liveright Publishing, an imprint of W.W. Norton & Company, McGraw-Hill Education, The MIT Press, The Museum of Modern Art, National Gallery of Art, New York University Press, Oncology Nursing Society, Oxford University Press, Princeton University Press, Scribner, Simon & Schuster, Stanford University Press, Thieme Publishers, University of California Press, University of Texas Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press .

Since 1976, the PROSE Awards have been organized by the PSP Division of the Association of American Publishers (AAP) to bring attention to distinguished books, journals, and electronic content. The awards are judged by an independent, 20-person panel of peer editors, publishers and librarians on how noteworthy and original their contributions are to the professional and scholarly publishing world.

“The decision for this year’s winners were particularly difficult, with more than 130 books, journals and reference works winning or receiving honorable mentions,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, President and Publisher Emeritus of CQ Press, and Founder and CEO of Law Street Media.

For a full list of winners, click here.

About AAP

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) represents about four hundred member organizations including major commercial, digital learning and education and professional publishers alongside independents, non-profits, university presses and scholarly societies. We represent the industry’s priorities on policy, legislative and regulatory issues regionally, nationally and worldwide. These include the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement, digital and new technology issues, funding for education and libraries, tax and trade, censorship and literacy. Find us online at or on twitter at @AmericanPublish.