Press Release

Back To News media contact
Cara Duckworth

AAP Issues Call for Entries for 2021 PROSE Awards for Outstanding Scholarly Books, Nonfiction Graphic Novels, Journals, Reference Works, and E-Products

AAP Issues Call for Entries for 2021 PROSE Awards for Outstanding Scholarly Books, Nonfiction Graphic Novels, Journals, Reference Works, and E-Products

Awards recognizing academic publishers’ best 2020 works in the arts, humanities, reference, and sciences kicks off with social media video campaign

The Association of American Publishers today launched its prestigious 2021 PROSE Awards, which recognize outstanding scholarly books, nonfiction graphic novels, journals, reference works, and e-products. The 2021 PROSE Awards are now open for entries from September 14, 2020 through November 13, 2020.

The awards recognize the very best scholarly works published in 2020 in the United States in five official categories: Biological and Life Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Reference Works. To help kick off the 2021 PROSE Awards, AAP is launching a video campaign on social media featuring past PROSE Awards winners such as 2020 R.R. Hawkins recipient Carmen C. Bambach (Leonardo da Vinci Rediscovered, Yale University Press) which will run throughout the entry period, with a video posted once a week.

Entry Details for the 2021 PROSE Award Process

The entry fee for the 2021 PROSE Awards remains $90. For the first time in the history of the program, submissions will be digital. Publishers will be asked to submit two electronic review copies before payment. Judges may request hardcopies during review. Winners will be required to provide physical copies to AAP.

Submitting publishers must be a member of either the Association of American Publishers (AAP) or the Association of University Presses (AUPresses).

Please see here for more about how to submit an entry for the 2021 PROSE Awards.

New Entry Types and Changes in Categories

In another first, for this year’s Awards publishers can submit under the new format of Nonfiction Graphic Novels. The requirements for this entry type are the same as requirements for Books, and entries can be submitted in any appropriate category.

For the 2021 PROSE Awards, Education Theory and Education Practice have been combined into one category: Education Theory and Practice.

The Physical Sciences and Mathematics subcategory under Reference Works has been removed from this year’s awards. Candidates can submit their entries under the Textbooks subcategory.

Clinical Medicinehas been combined with Nursing & Allied Health Sciences for the Clinical Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health Sciences category.

The Psychology category has been updated to Psychology and Applied Social Work.

Please see here for more about the entry guidelines.

About the PROSE Awards

Since 1976, the AAP’s PROSE Awards have recognized publishers who produce books, journals, and digital products of extraordinary merit that make a significant contribution to a field of study.

For 2021, a panel of esteemed judges from throughout the academic community will review entries for overall excellence in scholarly publishing in the five subject categories. Winners from each subject category will go on to compete for the industry’s coveted R.R. Hawkins Award, the ultimate winner of the PROSE Awards competition. PROSE Award Finalists, Subject Category winners, Excellence Award winners, and the R.R. Hawkins Award winner will be announced by AAP in early 2021.

More information on the 2021 PROSE Awards can be found here.

# # #