Press Release


Washington, DC – The Association of American Publishers (AAP) today unveiled 49 Subject Category Winners for the 2020 PROSE Awards honoring the best scholarly works published in 2019. These winners were selected by a panel of 19 judges from the 157 finalists previously identified from the more than 630 entries in this year’s PROSE Awards competition. The Subject Category Winners announced today demonstrate exceptional scholarship and have made a significant contribution to a field of study.

In the next few weeks, AAP will further refine the field by announcing Excellence Winners in five different categories:  

  • The 2019 PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological and Life Sciences
  • The 2019 PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities
  • The 2019 PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences and Mathematics
  • The 2019 PROSE Award for Excellence in Reference Works
  • The 2019 PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences

One of these five Excellence Winners will receive the prestigious R.R. Hawkins Award, the top prize of the annual PROSE competition, which will be named this month. The R.R. Hawkins Award winner will be further celebrated at AAP’s annual Professional and Scholarly Publishers (PSP) forum in Washington, DC, taking place this year on June 23rd.

The R.R. Hawkins Award is named for the long-time New York Public Library executive and author whose dedication and passion for professional and scholarly works significantly contributed to the acceptance of American science and scholarship across the globe. The 2019 R.R. Hawkins Award recipient was Oxford University Press for University of Pennsylvania scholar Kathleen Jamieson Hall’s Cyberwar: How Russian Hackers and Trolls Helped Elect a President.

The list of finalists can be viewed here.