Press Release

Publishers Praise Legislation that Would Make Head of Copyright Office a Presidential Appointee

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) commends Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) and Ranking Member John Conyers (D-MI) of the House Judiciary Committee, for introducing H.R. 1695, The Register of Copyrights Selection and Accountability Act. AAP appreciates the tremendous leadership of these lawmakers and the bill’s 29 additional co-sponsors in bringing the bill to fruition over the course of multi-year deliberations. We also recognize the significant work of Chairman Charles Grassley (R-IA), Ranking Member Diane Feinstein (D-CA), and Senior Member Patrick Leahy (D-VT) of the Senate Judiciary Committee, to ensure the process is bicameral as well as bipartisan.

AAP has advocated for this legislative change throughout the Copyright Review process which began in 2013, as it reflects the legally complex and economically important portfolio of the Register as head of the United States Copyright Office and relative to similar positions across the government. The Register’s office administers the Nation’s copyrights laws and provides expert legal and policy support to the Congress and other government officials. H.R. 1695 is an excellent first step that will pave the way for other long overdue improvements to the agency’s authority and infrastructure.

We urge swift passage of H.R. 1695 and hope that the appointment and confirmation of the Nation’s next Register of Copyrights takes place soon after.

For a list of statements, click here.