Press Release

Back To News media contact
Cara Duckworth


The Association of American Publishers (AAP) today announced the winners of the PROSE Excellence Awards, which recognize scholarly publications that are best in class in five categories: Biological & Life Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Reference Works, and Social Sciences.

The PROSE Awards Program’s top prize, the prestigious R.R. Hawkins Award, will be named shortly.

“This year’s five Excellence Award winners are each, in their own way, extraordinary works that represent the very best in class in the arts, humanities, and science publishing,” commented Maria Pallante, President and CEO of AAP. “With this announcement the houses that brought these works into the world – Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, Princeton University Press, Stanford University Press and Yale University Press – are being honored for the extraordinary role they have played in identifying  and nurturing the authors who created this year’s Excellence winners, and for their critically important contributions to the advancement of learning, knowledge, and understanding.”

A panel of 19 judges reviewed more than 630 entries to this year’s PROSE Awards program, elevating works that speak to the breadth, depth, and criticality of scholarly publishing. Throughout February, AAP has announced the results of its program, narrowing the field from 157 Finalists to 49 Subject Category winners, to today’s five Excellence Award winners.


PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological & Life Sciences:

Clinical Psychopharmacology: Principles and Practice      

S. Nassir Ghaemi

Oxford University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities:

Leonardo da Vinci Rediscovered         

Carmen C. Bambach

Yale University Press                 

PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences & Mathematics:

99 Variations on a Proof            

Philip Ording

Princeton University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Reference Works:

Roman Architecture and Urbanism: From the Origins to Late Antiquity  

Fikret Yegül, Diane Favro

Cambridge University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences:

The Cult of the Constitution   

Mary Anne Franks

Stanford University Press

About the PROSE Awards

Since 1976, AAP’s annual PROSE Awards have recognized publishers who produce books, journals, and digital products of extraordinary merit that make a significant contribution to a field of study each year. A panel of judges from across the publishing industry, from publishers to librarians to medical professionals, volunteer their time and expertise to determine PROSE Finalists, Subject Category Winners, Excellence Winners, and ultimately, the top R.R. Hawkins Award winner.