AAP International Freedom to Publish Award

Back to Policy Priorities

Recognizing Intrepid International Publishers: the AAP International Freedom to Publish Award

Founded in 2002, the International Freedom to Publish Award recognizes a book publisher outside the United States who has demonstrated courage and fortitude in defending freedom of expression. The Award, which includes a cash prize, is named in honor of Jeri Laber, a co-founder of Human Rights Watch and founding member of AAP’s Freedom to Publish Committee. Each year, members of the Committee consult with colleagues from around the world to review the actions of publishers who have faced censorship, political persecution, or personal peril in their work, or have otherwise taken a stand to defend the cause of freedom of expression and the written word. In many instances, the honoree’s particular circumstances may prevent him or her from accepting the award or communicating in person. In bestowing the Award, AAP is guided by the principle that if one of us is denied the right to publish, that threat affects us all.

Recent Winners of AAP’s International Freedom to Publish Award:

  • 2022: Editorial Dahbar, one of the few remaining Venezuelan-based publishing houses continuing to publish despite censorship and a tumultuous social and political environment. More here.
  • 2021: F&G Editores, a Guatemala-based publishing house, working in the face of personal and political danger. More here.
  • 2020: Jagriti Publishing House, a Bangladesh-based publisher and bookseller, led by Razia Rahman Jolly, who has continued to publish despite a dangerous censorship environment and the murder of her husband, the previous owner. More here.
  • 2019: South Africa-based NB Publishers for its purposeful publication of The President’s Keepers by Jacques Pauw. More here.
  • 2018: Azadeh Parsapour, a London-based publisher of censored Iranian authors. More here.
  • 2017: Gui Minhai, a Hong Kong-based publisher and bookseller detained in mainland China. More here.